by BK Munn
The Doug Wright Awards were handed out at a ceremony in Toronto last night during TCAF. Apparently, in some circles the awards, which honour the best in Canadian English-language cartooning, are referred to as “the Dougies”.
There was a new venue this year (High Park Ballroom at the Marriott Bloor Yorkville) and new trophy designs for the Best Book (aka THE Doug Wright) and the slightly shorter in height Spotlight Award (aka The Nipper). According to the Wright Awards, the winners were chosen by a jury made up of Bo Doodley, a Toronto-based artist; Jim Munroe, a writer, producer, and creator of games, comics, movies, and novels, living in Toronto; Marc Ngui, a Windsor, Ontario–based sequential artist and speculative designer; and Pamela Marie Pierce, Pamela Marie Pierce, a multi-disciplinary visual artist and illustrator based in Saint John, New Brunswick, whose work has appeared in Heavy Metal and elsewhere..”
Here are the winners:

Best Book

Jesse Jacobs, Crawl Space (Koyama)

Spotlight Award

Jenn Woodall, Magical Beatdown, Vol 2 (Silver Sprocket), and Marie and Worrywort (self)

The Pigskin Peters Award

Sami Alwani, The Dead Father (Sami Alwani)

Giant of the North: Hall of Fame

Duncan MacPherson (1924-1993), Toronto Star editorial cartoonist