The Sequential Magazine Awards are a hybrid juried and fan voted awards with the goal of promoting and celebrating the best independent comic books made by Canadians. Our nomination committee consisting of: Brendan Montgomery (Editor in Chief), John Swiminer (podcaster, journalist), Dan Collins (writer, podcaster), Brian Montgomery (long time Canadian comic collector), Martin Boruta (reviewer, podcaster) chose the nominees from public submissions received. Then an astounding 2000 fans voted to choose the winners below from January 19 to February 9.

Thank you to our sponsor Strange Adventures Comics and Curiosities we will be sending this year’s winners plaques! Strange Adventures are Canada’s oddest and award-winning comic book stores. With locations in Fredericton, Halifax and Dartmouth, Strange Adventures has been bringing you the best in comics since 1992!

Without further ado here are your nominees and winners with other nominees in no particular order. Also there were two ties! ( < 5 vote difference 0.25%) Scroll to the bottom for your first look at our issue 5 cover!

Best Comic Book

WINNER Auric of the Great White North – Issue 5 by Davis Dewsbury, Andrew Thomas & Sharon Gauthier

RUNNER UP The Pitiful Human Lizard – Some Heart Left by Jason Loo

3rd PLACE Prehistoria: Age of Dinosaurs – Issue 1 by Chris Simmonds and Brayden Martens

Eskimo Kisses – Issue 1 by Randy Stone, Christopher Sebela, and Henry Ponciano

Group of 7 – Issue 5 by Jason Lapidus and Chris Sanagan

Our War – Issue 6 by Michael Derrah and Luke Henderson

Sandstone Presents – Issue 1 by Greg Webster, Sandy Carruthers, and Robert Doan

Undergrowth – Issue 1 by Ricky Lima and Daniele Aquilani

Best Graphic Novel

WINNER Aurora BoreAlice by Joan Steacy

RUNNER UP Shout Out by TO Comix Press

3rd PLACE Crown & Anchor Book One: Legends No More by Alaire Racicot and Toben Racicot

Daisy Blackwood: Stolen Socialite by Ryan Howe

The Burning Black: The Legend of Black Shuck by Mark Allard-Will, Ryan Howe and Elaine M. Will

The Saga of the Jack of Spades by Daniel Schneider and Chase Kantor

Best Webcomic

WINNER Boumeries by Boum

RUNNER UP Eth’s Skin by Sfe Monster

3rd PLACE Verse by Sam Beck

Godslave by Meaghan Carter

Manfried the Man by Caitlin Major and Kelly Bastow

Phantomarine by Claire Niebergall

Favourite Writer

WINNER Davis Dewsbury (Auric of the Great White North)

RUNNER UP Luke Henderson (Our War)

3rd PLACE Chris Sanagan (Group of 7)

Michael McAdam

Tony White

Mark Allard Will

Favourite Artist

WINNER Elaine M. Will (Dust Ship Glory)

RUNNER UP Andrew Clark (Adam)

3rd PLACE Nelson Caetano (The Gathering Place)

Michael Derrah

Robert Doan

Robert Jennex

Favourite Cartoonist

WINNER Boum / Samantha Leriche-Gionet (A Small Revolution)

RUNNER UP Gary Boyarski (Jack Grimm: Harbinger of Death)

RUNNER UP Jeff Martin (Hockeypocalypse)

A. Shay Hahn

Mark Oakley

Jonathan Kociuba

Favourite Podcast

WINNER True North Country Comics

RUNNER UP The Audio Adventures of Auroraman

RUNNER UP Hey Kids Comics Radio Show

An Elegant Weapon

Speech Bubble

Look for comments from the winners in the next issue of Sequential Magazine coming mid March!

Check out the amazing cover below by Gerhard and catch up on previous issues by downloading on our gumroad.

Thank you to everyone who participated in the awards! Check back in November for nominations for the 2020 awards!