Sponsored by Strange Adventures Comics & Curiosities

Voting is now over,
The winners are posted here!

The Sequential Magazine Awards are a hybrid juried and fan voted awards with the goal of promoting and celebrating the best independent comic books made by Canadians. These awards are intended to honour Canadian comic creators therefore all nominees for personal awards must be current residents of Canada (regardless of legal status). For books, they must be published and available in Canada with either the writer or artist being Canadian. Either self publishing or small publishers are permitted.

Public voting occured between January 19 until February 9 2020

Categories 2019

  • Best Comic Book
  • Best Graphic Novel
  • Best Webcomic
  • Favourite Writer
  • Favourite Artist
  • Favourite Cartoonist
  • Favourite Podcast

Nominations were received from the public in November. The selection committee then chose 5 to 8 final nominees per category which were then combined to choose the final nominees.

Nomination Committee

  • Chair – Brendan Montgomery (Editor in Chief)
  • John Swiminer (podcaster, journalist)
  • Dan Collins (writer, podcaster)
  • Brian Montgomery (long time Canadian comic collector)
  • Martin Boruta (reviewer, podcaster)

Winners of last year’s awards are not eligible for the following year, including comics in the same continuing series.

2018 Award Winners (CanComics Wiki Awards)

2018 Results announced in Sequential Magazine Issue 1

WinnerRunner-Up3rd (if enough nominees)
Best Comic BookJack Grimm: Harbinger of Death Issue 5Norlan: Sorceress Of LightGroup of 7 Issue 2
Best Graphic NovelWayward SistersHappily Ever Aftr
Favourite WriterRicky LimaDavis Dewsbury
Favourite ArtistAndrew ThomasDaniel Schneider
Favourite PodcastRadio Free KryptonHey Kids Comics! Radio

2017 Award Winners (CanComics Wiki Awards)

Best Comic BookAuric of the Great White North Issue 3Auroraman Issue 1
Best Graphic NovelThe Adventurers: Love You So Very MuchToronto Comics Anthology Yonge at Heart
Favourite CreatorKelly TindallDavis Dewsbury