Les nominés pour le prix Joe Shuster 2016

by BK Munn
The nominees for the 2016 Joe Shuster Awards for Canadian Comics were announced earlier today by awards organizer Kevin Boyd. The awards are for work published in 2015 by Canadian creators. The winners will be announced at a ceremony later this year.
In addition to the creative categories, The Shusters (named for the Canadian-born Superman and Slam Bradley co-creator Joe Shuster) also honour retailers and fans. This year the T.M. Maple Award, named for the nom de plume of famed 1970s letterhack Jim Burke, goes to comics historian John Bell, the former archivist known for his trio of books on Canadian comics and cartoonists, Canuck Comics (1986), Guardians of the North (1992), and Invaders from the North (2006). As well, the Shusters will also induct a slew of creators into their Hall of Fame, including Darwin Cooke, Shirley “Ley” Fortune, Fred Kelly, Mark Shainblum, and Tedd Steele.
The full list of nominees is below:


Brendan Fletcher – Batgirl, Black Canary, Gotham Academy (DC Comics)
Normand Grégoire– La petite patrie (La Pastèque)
Kathryn Immonen – Russian Olive to Red King (Adhouse Books), Operation S.I.N., Agent Carter: SHIELD Anniversary Special (Marvel Comics)
Jeff Lemire – Justice League United (DC Comics) Descender, Plutona (Image), All-New Hawkeye, Extraordinary X-Men (Marvel Comics), Book of Death: Fall of Bloodshot , Bloodshot Reborn (Valiant)
Ryan North – Adventure Time (Boom!) Unbeatable Squirrel Girl (Marvel Comics)
Chip Zdarsky – Jughead (Archie) Kaptara (Image Comics), Howard the Duck (Marvel Comics)


Andy Belanger – Southern Cross (Image Comics)
Stuart Immonen – Russian Olive to Red King (Adhouse Books), All-New Captain America, Star Wars (Marvel Comics)
Leonard Kirk – Captain Canuck (ChapterHouse Comics) Fantastic Four, Squadron Supreme (Marvel Comics)
Julie Rocheleau – La petite patrie (La Pastèque)
Steve Skroce – We Stand on Guard (Image Comics)
Fiona Staples – Archie (Archie Comics), Saga (Image Comics)
Cameron Stewart – Fight Club 2 (Dark Horse Comics)


Samuel Cantin – Whitehorse: Première partie (Éditions Pow Pow)
Michael DeForge – Dressing (Koyama Press)
Francis Manapul – Detective Comics (DC Comics)
Michel Rabagliati – Paul dans le Nord (La Pastèque)
Ethan Rilly – Pope Hats 4 (Adhouse)
Seth – Palookaville 22 (Drawn & Quarterly)
Jillian Tamaki – SuperMutant Magic Academy (Drawn & Quarterly)
Zviane – Ping-Pong (Éditions Pow Pow)

Gene Day Award (Self-Publishers)

Nemo Balkanski – The Deliverer
Stephen Gilbert – Colville
Kathleen Gros – Last Night at Wyrmwood High
A. Shay Hahn – Homeless G-Men 1-3, Battle Rally 1-2 and Crypto-Zombic 1
Various: Clouscape Comics Collective – Epic Canadiana Vol. 2
Various: Toronto Comics Anthology – Toronto Comics, Vol 2

Harry Kremer Award (Retailers)

Named for Harry Kremer, founder of Now & Then Books (in Kitchener, Ontario).
Another Dimension (Calgary, AB)
Librairie Drawn & Quarterly (Montreal, QC)
Gotham Central (Mississauga, ON)
The Comic Hunter (Moncton, NB)
Time Masters (St. John’s, NF)

The Dragon Award (Comics for Kids)

March Grand Prix (Stone Arch Press) by Kean Soo
Awkward (Yen Press) by Svetlana Chmakova
Sex is a Funny Word (Seven Stories Press) by Cory Silverberg and Fiona Smyth
Child Soldier: When Boys and Girls are Used in War (Kids Can Press) by Michel Chikwanine, Jessica Dee Humphreys, and Claudia Davila
Windmill Dragons (Toon Books) by David Nytra
l’Agent Jean, Tome 08 (Presse Aventure) by Alex A.
Salome et les hommes en noir (Bayard Canada) by Valerie Amiraux and Francis Desharnais
Le prisonnier sans frontieres (Archambault) by Jacques Goldstyn

The T.M. Maple Award

(“for achievements made outside of the creative and retail categories who have had a positive impact on the Canadian comics community”)
John Bell (1952-)

Canadian Comic Book Creator Hall of Fame

Selected for induction in 2016 by the Hall of Fame Committee (Walter Durajlija, Ivan Kocmarek, Hope Nicholson, Robert Pincombe and James Waley):
Tedd Steele (1922-1994)
Ley aka Shirley Fortune (?-?)
Fred Kelly (1921-2005)
Mark Shainblum (1963-)
Darwyn Cooke (1962-2016)
full press release and biographies of Hall of Famers