Quebec Comics Prize:  Les Prix Bédélys

by BK Munn
The winners of the 2017 Prix Bédélys were announced at a cermony this past Saturday, May 20 during the Festival BD de Montréal (FBDM) . The awards are the main activity of Promo 9e Art, a non-profit corporation set up to promote Quebec comics and organized by these folks. This is the 18th edition of the awards. (I’m not sharing the beautiful poster design or the weird trophies since the organizers only posted them as .PNG files and I don’t feel like converting them). The winners are highlighted below, and you can see a list of all the nominees here.

Bédélys Québec

Nunavik by Michel Hellman (Pow Pow Press)

Bédélys Monde

Stupor Mundi by Néjib (Gallimard)

Bédélys Jeunesse

Fantômes by Raina Telgemeier (Scholastic)

Bédélys Indépendant

Un client habituel by Skip Jensen (Éditions Trip)

Bédélys Indépendant – Prix spécial du jury

Joey Pyro : La face collée sur l’asphalte  by Jordanne Maynard