by BK Munn
The National Newspaper Awards for Canadian journalism were handed out at a ceremony in Toronto Friday night and Halifax Chronicle Herald cartoonist Bruce MacKinnon won in the editorial cartooning category. Established in 1949, the awards are among the most prestigious for newspaper workers in this country, especially for editorial cartoonists who have few other honours. This is MacKinnon’s sixth NNA. He previously won in 1992, 1993, 2013, 2014 and 2015.
Cartoonists (or rather, their papers) submit a portfolio of cartoons to the jury. Winners receive $2500. Serge Chapleau of La Presse and Malcolm Mayes of the Edmonton Journal were the runners up.
awards site