2020 Doug Wright Awards Nominees

by BK Munn

The nominees for the 16th annual Doug wright Awards for Canadian Cartooning have been announced. Usually scheduled to take place during TCAF, due to the COVID-19 pandemic this year the awards will be presented online in a special ceremony on Saturday, May 9th. For the first time ever, this year Doug Wright Award winners will receive a modest cash prize along with their award.

This year’s nominees were chosen from 151 books. Nominees and winners were chosen by a panel of three judges per category. The judges include Shanda Deziel, Deborah Dundas, Meags Fitzgerald, Jesse Jacobs, Calum Johnston, Alison McCreesh, Serah-Marie McMahon, Noah Van Sciver, Todd Stewart, Philip Street, Maurice Vellekoop, and Kat Verhoeven. (The poster above is by Hartley Lin.)

As well as the book awards, every year the Wrights honour a pair of Hall of Fame cartoonists in the Giants of the North category. This year, only one entry is scheduled, that being Walter Ball (1911-1995), the creator of the Rural Route comic strip.

Here are the nominees:

The Doug Wright Award: Best Book

This Place: 150 Years Retold anthology
Kateri Akiwenzie-Damm, Sonny Assu, Brandon Mitchell, Rachel and Sean Qitsualik-Tinsley, David A. Robertson, Niigaanwewidam James Sinclair, Jen Storm, Richard Van Camp, Katherena Vermette, Chelsea Vowel, Tara Audibert, Kyle Charles, GMB Chomichuk, Natasha Donovan, Scott A. Ford, Scott B. Henderson, Ryan Howe, Andrew Lodwick, Jen Storm, Donovan Yaciuk, Alicia Elliott
HighWater Press

The Cursed Hermit
Kris Bertin, Alexander Forbes
Conundrum Press

Nina Bunjevac
Fantagraphics Books

Agnes, Murderess
Sarah Leavitt
Freehand Books

Death Threat
Vivek Shraya, Ness Lee
Arsenal Pulp Press

Bradley of Him
Connor Willumsen
Koyama Press

The Nipper: Emerging Talent Award

D. Boyd
Chicken Rising
Conundrum Press

Jason Bradshaw
Things Go Wrong
Paper Rocket

Sylvia Nickerson
Drawn & Quarterly

Ben O’Neil
Popnoir Editions

Cole Pauls
Dakwäkãda Warriors
Conundrum Press

The Pigskin Peters: Best Small- or Micro-press Book

Boumeries, Vol. 9

Freddy Carrasco
Peow Studios

Baby in the Boneyard
Jesse Jacobs
Hollow Press

Curb Angels
Lisa Mendis, Christopher Ducharme, Lucas C. Pauls
At Bay Press

Jay Stephens
Black Eye Books

The Egghead: Best Kids’ Book

Brick Breaks Free
David Craig

The Worst Book Ever
Elise Gravel
Drawn & Quarterly

Lunch Quest
Chris Kuzma
Koyama Press

Dakwäkãda Warriors
Cole Pauls 
Conundrum Press

Alma and the Beast
Esme Shapiro
Tundra Books