Cover by Ken Lashley, nominated in the Cover Artist category.
Cover by Ken Lashley, nominated in the Cover Artist category.
by BK Munn
The nominees for the 2015 Joe Shuster Awards were announced at a panel at the Niagara Falls Comic Con June 5th and to the general public June 15. A promotion of The Canadian Comic Book Creator Awards Association, the awards seek to showcase outstanding work by creators, retailers and fans based in Canada. The date for the Fall awards ceremony, as well as nominees for The Gene Day Award category (self-published comics), will be announced later this Summer.
Here are the nominees:
Webcomics Creator


  • Ed Brisson: 24, X-Files/TMNT (IDW), The Field, Sheltered (Image), Robocop: Beta, Robocop: Last Stand, Sons of Anarchy (Boom!)
  • Brendan Fletcher: Gotham Academy (with BECKY CLOONAN), Batgirl (with CAMERON STEWART ) (DC)
  • Alexandre Fontaine-Rousseau: Les cousines vampires (Pow Pow)
    Jeff Lemire: Animal Man, Green Arrow, New 52: Future’s End, Teen Titans: Earth One (DC) The Valiant (with MATT KINDT) (Valiant)
  • Ryan North: Adventure Time, Midas Touch (Boom!), Original Sins (Marvel)
  • Yves Pelletier: Le pouvoir de l’amour (La Pastèque)
  • Mariko Tamaki: This One Summer (Groundwood Books)
  • Kurtis Wiebe: Peter Panzerfaust, Rat Queens (Image)

Cover Artist

  • Darwyn Cooke
  • Mike Del Mundo
  • Karl Kerschl
  • Ken Lashley
  • Francis Manapul
  • Francois Miville-Deschenes
  • Julie Rocheleu
  • Cameron Stewart


  • Adrian Alphona, Ms. Marvel (Marvel)
  • Nick Bradshaw, Guardians of the Galaxy, The Avengers (Marvel)
  • Leonard Kirk, Fantastic Four (Marvel)
  • Mikael, Promise Tome 2: L’Homme souffrance (Glénat BD)
  • Julie Rocheleau, La colère de Fantômas: Tout l’or de Paris (Dargaud)
  • Jillian Tamaki, This One Summer (Groundwood Books)
  • Chip Zdarsky, Sex Criminals (image)


  • Blonk, 23h72 (Pow Pow)
  • Nina Bunjevac, Fatherland (Jonathan Cape)
  • Emily Carroll, Through the Woods (Margaret K. McElderry Books)
  • Michael Cho, Shoplifter (Pantheon)
  • Meags Fitzgerald, Photobooth: A Biography (Conundrum Press)
  • Jesse Jacobs, Safari Honeymoon (Koyama Press)
  • Bryan Lee O’Malley, Seconds: A Graphic Novel (Ballantine)
  • Richard Suicide, Chroniques du centre-sud (Pow Pow)

The Dragon Award (Comics for Kids)

  • Agent Jean, t. 6 & 7 (Presses Aventure) by Alex A.
  • Three Thieves, bks 4 & 5 (Kids Can Press) by Scott Chantler
  • A Cat Named Tim and Other Stories (Koyama Press) by John Martz
  • Midas Flesh MIDAS FLESH (Boom!) by Ryan North
  • Maddy Kettle! (Top Shelf) by Eric Orchard
  • Ariane et Nicolas, tome 8 (400 Coups) by Paul Roux
  • This One Summer (Groundwood Books) by Mariko Tamaki, Jillian Tamaki

Harry Kremer Award (Retailer)

  • AMAZING STORIES (Saskatoon, SK)
  • THE COMIC HUNTER (Moncton, NC)
  • COMIC READERS (Regina, SK)
  • CONSPIRACY COMICS (Burlington, ON)
  • EXPERT COMICS (Montreal, QC)
  • IMAGINAIRE (Quebec City, QC)
  • STADIUM COMICS (Brampton, ON)

As well, the Shuster Awards ceremony will honour comics fans and older creators with The T.M. Maple Award and the Canadian Comic Book Creator Hall of Fame. This year’s T.M. Maple Award recipients are Michael Hirsh and Patrick Loubert, the Nelvana Animation founders who published The Great Canadian Comic Books in 1971 and donated a massive archive of 1940s art and comic books to the National Archives; and Robert Charpentier (1960-2014), the Toronto comics retailer known for his sponsorship of local youth organizations. The Hall of Fame inductees are Doris Slater (1918-1964), the first woman cartoonist to make a name for herself in the Canadian comic books of the 1940s; and James Waley, pioneer publisher, writer and artist and co-creator of superhero The Northern Light.
full press release