The Doug Wright AwardsMay 14, 2016, TorontoThe best in Canadian comics and graphic novels were honoured this evening, at the 2016 Doug Wright Awards for Canadian Cartooning in Toronto. Including first-time nods for Dakota McFadzean and Patrick Kyle, and a repeat win for Michael Deforge, his third!

The winners of the 2016 Doug Wright Award for Best Book is:
Dressing by Michael DeForge (Koyama Press)

The winner of the 2016 Doug Wright Spotlight Award is:
Dakota McFadzean for Don’t Get Eaten By Anything (Conundrum Press)

And the winner of the 2016 Pigskin Peters Award is:
New Comics # 6 & 7 by Patrick Kyle

James Simpkins was inducted into Giants of the North Hall of Fame; Darwyn Cooke and Alvin Buenaventura remembered at ceremony.

More here!