Video presentation of these awards

The Sequential Magazine Awards, originating in 2017, are fan voted awards organized by Sequential Magazine to allow Canadian comic fans to show their appreciation for their favourite local indie comics and creators as well as discover more great Canadian made comics. While there are already other Canadian comics awards we wanted to create something different and not fully judged. In December we held an open nomination period and through those suggestions and our own favourites we’ve selected a final set of nominees in each category. Then a public vote determined the winner from amongst them with over 1800 votes cast. We thank our long time sponsor Strange Adventures Comics & Curiosities in Halifax for helping us produce plaques for the winners which will be sent to them.

Below are the names of this year’s winners and nominees. Only the winner’s ranks are shown, the remaining nominees are in no particular order.

Best Comic Book

  • Winner: RESILIENT #1
  • Runner Up: Sidequest #3
  • 3rd Place: Dark Fragments
  • Tales from the Interface #3
  • Seeds of Spring #3 The Same Old Mistakes Again and Again
  • 88 #1
  • Mother Trucker #1
  • Code 45 #2/3

Resilient #1

by George Michail and

George Michail (writer)

Vinz El Tabanas (artist)

Ed Dukeshire (letterer)

Benny Powell (editor)

“Vinz and I love the comic book medium and we’re grateful to be recognized, amongst such impressive work created by the other nominees. RESILIENT is the most personal story that I have ever told. It’s nice to feel validated, because the actual writing of it was full of second guessing and it was incredibly nerve wracking! Thank you to my wife, Jolanda, for putting up with this crazy endeavour (making funny books) that I’ve set out on, to Vinz for being such a pro and for beautifully bringing this story to life and to Sequential Magazine for this, much appreciated, honour.”


Best Graphic Novel

  • Winner: Death Kanji
  • Runner Up: Dr. Freckle Meets The Neighbors
  • 3rd Place: Infinite Universe
  • XII: Of Magic and Muses Vol 3
  • The Bridgebuilder’s Creed
  • HΩME volume 2
  • Kasama

Death Kanji

Jordan Patrick Finn – writer

Greg Woronchak – artist

A.H.G., Taimia, Yousr Ghanem, Chris Smith – Colour

Lyndon Radchenka – letterer

Ariela Kristantina – cover artist

DC Hopkins – logo & cover design

“Thank you Sequential Magazine and all the voters for awarding Death Kanji BEST GRAPHIC NOVEL!”


Best Webcomic

  • Winner: The Reaper and the Waiting
  • Runner Up: Phantomarine
  • 3rd Place: Bicycle Boy
  • The Prince and the Swan
  • Wychwood
  • How Baby
  • Practical Defense Against Piracy
  • Cold Sweat

The Reaper and the Waiting

by January Sun

“My sincerest thank you to everyone who read The Reaper and the Waiting and voted for it; this story wouldn’t have made it this far without you. My deepest gratitude goes to my friends, family, and patreons, without whose generous support this comic wouldn’t exist. And thank you to Sequential Magazine for holding this event, and showcasing so many talented Canadian artists!”


Favourite Writer

  • Winner: Allison Danger
  • Runner Up: Stephanie Cooke
  • 3rd Place: Adam Ma
  • Ricky Lima
  • John Ward
  • Jordan Patrick Finn

Allison Danger

“Thank you so much to everyone who took the time out of their busy schedules to be a part of one of the best communities; Canadian Indie Comics! I was in some pretty humbling company, and still don’t believe I won. Organizers, participants and voters alike; thank you again from the bottom of my heart and the tip of my top hat.”


Favourite Artist

  • Winner: Vinz El Tabanas
  • Runner Up: Megan Huang
  • 3rd Place: Jackarais
  • Emmanuel Filteau
  • Vashperado
  • Lindsay Ishihiro

Vinz El Tabanas

“Thank you Sequential Magazine! FAVOURITE ARTIST? WOW!! I’m blown away! It’s been incredible for me working with George on RESILIENT. I’d like to thank everyone!! My wife, friends, family, my cats and to everyone that supports my art on social media. “


Favourite Cartoonist

  • Winner: Claire Niebergall
  • Runner Up: Shawn Daley
  • 3rd Place: Elaine M Will
  • Marc Michaud
  • Tony Cliff
  • Dreorcaul

Claire Niebergall

“Thank you all for giving me this honour! The readers who support me and my work are incredible – I truly appreciate every one of them. You’re the best!”


Favourite Colourist

  • Winner: Audra Balion
  • Donovan Yaciuk
  • Scott A Ford

Audra Balion

“Thanks to my family, friends, and fans. Your support of my art career is amazing; I couldn’t do it without you.”


Favourite Letterer

  • Winner: Toben Racicot
  • Andrew Thomas
  • Glen Carabin

Toben Racicot

“I want to thank everybody for selecting me as Favourite Letterer. I collaborate with the best creators and I appreciate every one of you…even you, Grant.”


Thank you to everyone who voted and shared this year’s awards! Please continue to support Canadian comic book creators big and small by following and sharing them on social media, buying their books, supporting crowdfunded books and being patrons.

Sequential Magazine Issue 11 coming in April!